Expo Bob Verschueren. Fragiles natures

From November 19, 2022 to March 12, 2023, the Abbey is organizing the exhibition Bob Verschueren. Fragiles natures (fragile nature). 9 plant-based installations by the internationally renowned artist Bob Verschueren enter a dialogue with the architecture of centuries-old buildings. The plastic artist who focuses on Nature Art, questions himself about the irreversibility of time with nature as artistic material. His poetic compositions echo the spirit of the site.

A dialogue between nature and architecture

Each installation arises from connections with some architectural peculiarity of ancient buildings: a pointed arch, a keystone and its ribs, a column... or with the functions of the buildings and the life of the monks: spiritual upliftment, autarky, community life … Each work echoes certain Romanesque or Gothic structural elements of the abbey.

The essence of the plants

Incidentally, it is in and through nature and in particular in plants that the Belgian artist Bob Verschueren finds his inspiration. In his work he is driven by the desire to examine each plant closely, to understand what distinguishes it from others, what makes it unique and to extract the elemental forms that structure the plant. He likes to believe that the foundations of any installation are already engraved in the plants waiting for his gaze to find them and for his hands to take them out and reveal them.

An internationally acclaimed artist

It was in 1985, in Atelier 340 (Brussels) that Bob Verschueren created his first plant installation. The artist systematically uses a single botanical species and opts for extreme frugality of resources. Since then, he has completed almost 400 installations in Belgium and abroad.

A different view of life

With his plant installations that inhabit a place, Bob Verschueren not only wants to encourage the viewer to reflect on his relationship with nature, but also to question the ephemeral - and therefore precious - nature of life.

Practical

Temporary exhibition Bob Verschueren. Fragiles natures (fragile nature)

Dates: from Saturday, November 19, 2022, to Sunday, March 12, 2022.

Timetable: accessible during the opening hours of the Abbey, from 10 am to 5 pm.

Entrance fee: admission to the Abbey is included.

Adults € 9 - Seniors, students € 7 - Children (6-12 years) € 4 - Free under 6 years.

A visitor's notebook (plan + explanation of each composition) will be on sale for € 3.

Expo Bob Verschueren. Fragiles natures

Du 19 novembre 2022 au 12 mars 2023, l’Abbaye accueille l’exposition Fragiles natures de Bob Verschueren. Huit installations à caractère végétal de l’artiste de renommée internationale, Bob Verschueren dialoguent avec l’architecture des bâtiments séculaires. L’artiste plasticien d’Art Nature s’interroge sur l’irréversibilité du temps avec la nature comme matériau artistique. Ses compositions poétiques font écho à l’esprit des lieux.

Un dialogue entre nature et architecture

Chaque installation a éclos de liens avec l’une ou l’autre particularité architecturale des bâtiments séculaires : un arc brisé, une clé de voûte et ses nervures, une colonne… les fonctions des bâtiments et la vie des moines : élévation spirituelle, autarcie, vie en communauté, … Chaque œuvre entre ainsi en résonance avec certains éléments structuraux romans ou gothiques de l’Abbaye.

L’essence du végétal

C’est par ailleurs, dans et au travers de la nature et en particulier du végétal que l’artiste belge, Bob Verschueren trouve son inspiration. Dans son travail, il est animé par la volonté de scruter chaque plante avec acuité, de comprendre ce qui la distingue des autres, ce qui en fait son unicité et d’en extraire les formes élémentaires qui la structurent. Il aime à croire que les bases de chaque installation sont déjà inscrites dans le végétal qui n’attendent que son regard pour les trouver et ses mains pour les extraire et les révéler.

Un artiste de renommée internationale

C’est en 1985, dans l’Atelier 340 (Bruxelles) que l’artiste réalise sa première installation végétale. L’artiste utilise systématiquement une seule espèce botanique et opte pour une extrême économie de moyens. Depuis, il a à son compteur près de 400 installations en Belgique et à l’étranger.

Un autre regard sur la vie

A travers ces installations végétales qui habitent les lieux, Bob Verschueren cherche à amener le spectateur non seulement à réfléchir à sa relation avec la nature mais aussi à s’interroger sur le caractère éphémère - et donc précieux - de la vie.

En pratique

Exposition temporaire Bob Verschueren. Fragiles natures

Dates : du samedi 19 novembre 2022 au dimanche 12 mars 2023.

Horaires : accessible durant les heures d’ouverture de l’Abbaye, de 10 à 17h.

Tarifs d’entrée : l’accès à l’exposition est compris dans le tarif d’entrée (pas de supplément).

Adulte 9 € - Senior, Etudiant 7 € - Enfant (6-12 ans) 4 € - Enfant (<6 ans) gratuit.