Expo Folon : Sculptures

As part of the 20th anniversary of the Folon Foundation, the Abbey - in collaboration with another cultural centre of Walloon Brabant, the Folon Foundation - is delighted to organize an exhibition of twenty monumental and original sculptures by the internationally renowned Belgian artist Jean-Michel Folon. The exhibition echoes the publication of a beautiful art book devoted to the sculptures of the artist (Mercator Fund).

A prestigious architectural monument

The Abbey's proposal to host some 20 sculptures among the most evocative of the artist, is part of the tradition dear to Folon of confronting his works with the beauty of a monumental, historical and architectural place and seeing how they respond to the light and the seasons. Here, the sculptures are confronted with the spirituality contained in the old stones of the Cistercian site, as well as with the colours of autumn and winter.

Exceptional places for monumental sculptures

After starting as an illustrator and painter, Jean-Michel Folon (1934-2005) embarked on sculpture at the end of the 1980s, as a second wind in his career. In 1995 his first exhibition of monumental sculptures took place at the Petit Sablon in Brussels. Other exhibitions follow in extraordinary places: at the Castle of Seneffe in 1996, in the small Tuscan town of Pietrasanta in 1999, at the Castle of Saint George in Lisbon in 2001, at the Forte di Belvedere in Florence in 2005. Memorable exhibitions have also been held after the artist's death, such as the one in the Solvay Regional Estate in La Hulpe in 2008, or more recently in Saint-Tropez in 2019.

The artist Jean-Michel Folon

Whether through his posters, his illustrations, his television shows and his numerous exhibitions, Jean-Michel Folon (1934-2005) left a worldwide mark on the collective imagination of the last third of the 20th century. Humanist, he leaves a figurative and poetic work, anchored in traditional techniques and, therefore, atypical in an artistic panorama dominated by conceptual art. His universe, which was initially very dark, evolved, depending on the artist's great struggles in favour of human rights or environmental awareness, towards an appeasement from the 1980s. In 2000 he created the Folon Foundation in Solvay Park, in La Hulpe, a museum that houses his work. The Foundation celebrates its 20th anniversary in 2020.

Folon's sculptures, the culmination of his career

Sculpture occupies a special place in Folon's work. It was a challenge that the artist resolutely accepted in the second part of his career. Folon has always collected decommissioned objects that inspire him, with the aim of resuscitating them in kinds of ready-made.

During the 1990s, encouraged by his friend César, the artist resolutely embarked on statuary, sometimes monumental, whether in direct carving (wood, plaster) or in modelling. Characterized by their frontality and their corporeality, enhanced with multiple patinas, his sculptures draw on the primitive arts, from the Cyclades to the Etruscans, from African masks to Native American totems. Largely centred on humans, they embody themes formerly treated graphically and thus project the artist's universe into atypical and natural environments: landscapes, gardens, parks, galleries.

This approach finds its culmination on the beach of Knokke where Folon installed in 1997 a bronze figure, eternally patinated by the tides (The sea, that great sculptor).

The temporary exhibition ‘Folon’s sculptures at the Abbey’ is visible from Saturday 24 October 2020 to Sunday 21 February 2020.

Practical Information

Temporary exhibition Folon. Sculptures at the Abbey

Dates: from Saturday October 24, 2020 to Sunday February 21, 2021. Closed on December 24, 25, 31, 2020 and January 1, 2021

Opening hours: accessible during the Abbey’s opening hours, daily till 31 October from 10 AM till 6 PM, and from 10 AM till 5 PM starting 1 November.

Prices: access to the abbey is included (no surcharge).

Adults € 9 - Seniors, students € 7 - Children (6-12 years) € 4 - Children (<6 years) free entrance.

Combined tickets Villers Abbey/Folon Foundation.

Online booking and purchase are highly recommended.

A visitor's notebook will be on sale at the entrance.

 

WATERCOLOUR WORKSHOPS Folon. Sculptures at the Abbey in French, Dutch and English

Saturdays November 21, December 12, January 9, February 6, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.

The Folon Foundation and the Abbey offer watercolour workshops for adults at the Abbey, as part of the exhibition Folon. Sculptures at the Abbey. 

The watercolour workshops are given by Catherine Deryck, animator of the Foundation, one Saturday morning per month. Participants explore the exhibition in order to soak up Folon's sculptures and the atmosphere in the Abbey. The group will continue the workshop indoors, for two hours, and are supervised by the animator to learn about the artist's favourite technique: watercolour. From 18 years on. (No pre-requisites required.)

Price (exhibition + workshop): € 35. (Online booking)

Each workshop is different. Wearing a mask is mandatory.

Expo Folon. Sculptures à l’Abbaye

Dans le cadre du 20e anniversaire de la Fondation Folon, l’Abbaye – en partenariat avec un second pôle culturel du Brabant wallon, la Fondation Folon – est heureuse d’accueillir une exposition d’une vingtaine de sculptures monumentales et originales de l’artiste belge de renommée internationale, Jean-Michel Folon. L’exposition fait également l’écho de la sortie d’un beau livre d’art consacré aux sculptures de l’artiste (Fonds Mercator).

 

Un monument architectural prestigieux

La proposition de l’Abbaye d’accueillir une vingtaine de sculptures, parmi les plus évocatrices de l’artiste, s’inscrit dans la tradition chère à Folon de confronter ses œuvres à la beauté d’un lieu historique et architectural monumental et de les voir réagir au gré de la lumière et des saisons. Les sculptures se voient ici confrontées à la spiritualité contenue dans les vieilles pierres du site cistercien ainsi qu’aux couleurs de l’automne et de l’hiver.

Des lieux exceptionnels pour des sculptures monumentales

Illustrateur et peintre au départ, Jean-Michel Folon (1934-2005) se lance dans la sculpture dès la fin des années 1980, comme un second souffle dans sa carrière. En 1995 a lieu sa première exposition de sculptures monumentales au Petit Sablon à Bruxelles. D’autres expositions suivent dans des lieux extraordinaires : au Château de Seneffe en 1996, dans la petite ville toscane de Pietrasanta en 1999, au Château Saint-Georges à Lisbonne en 2001, au Forte di Belvedere à Florence en 2005. Des expositions mémorables ont également lieu après le décès de l’artiste, comme celle dans le Domaine régional Solvay à La Hulpe en 2008, ou plus récemment à Saint-Tropez en 2019.

L’artiste Jean-Michel Folon

Que ce soit par ses affiches, ses illustrations, ses animations télévisuelles et par ses nombreuses expositions, Jean-Michel Folon (1934-2005) a mondialement marqué l’imaginaire collectif du dernier tiers du 20e siècle. Humaniste, il laisse une œuvre figurative et poétique, ancrée dans des techniques traditionnelles et, de ce fait, atypique dans un panorama artistique dominé par l’art conceptuel. Son univers au départ très sombre évolue, au gré des grands combats de l’artiste en faveur des droits humains ou de la conscience environnementale, vers un apaisement à partir des années 1980. En 2000, il crée la Fondation Folon dans le parc Solvay, à La Hulpe, un musée qui rassemble son œuvre. La Fondation fête ses 20 ans d’existence en 2020.

Les sculptures de Folon, aboutissement de sa carrière

La sculpture sonne de manière particulière dans l’œuvre de Folon. Elle s’inscrit comme un défi, celui dans lequel l’artiste se lance résolument dans la seconde partie de sa carrière. Depuis toujours, Folon collecte des objets déclassés qui l’inspirent, avec pour visée de les ressusciter en sortes de ready-made.

Au cours de la décennie 1990, encouragé par son ami César, l’artiste se lance résolument dans la statuaire, parfois monumentale, que ce soit en taille directe (bois, plâtre) ou en modelage. Caractérisées par leur frontalité et leur corporalité, rehaussées de multiples patines, ses sculptures se nourrissent des arts premiers, des Cyclades aux Étrusques, des masques africains aux totems amérindiens. Largement centrées sur l’humain, elles incarnent des thèmes traités autrefois graphiquement et projettent ainsi l’univers de l’artiste dans des environnements atypiques et naturels : paysages, jardins, parcs, galeries.

Cette démarche trouve son aboutissement sur la plage de Knokke où Folon installe en 1997 un personage en bronze, sempiternellement patiné par les marées (La mer, ce grand sculpteur).

Infos pratiques

Horaires : accessible durant les heures d’ouverture de l’Abbaye, tous les jours jusqu’au 31 octobre de 10h à 18h, et de 10 à 17h à partir du 1er novembre.

Tarifs d’entrée : l’accès à l’exposition est compris dans le tarif d’entrée (pas de supplément).

Adulte 9 € - Senior, étudiant 7 € - Enfant (6-12 ans) 4 € - Enfant (<6 ans) gratuit.

La réservation et l’achat en ligne sont vivement recommandés.

Un ticket combiné Villers/Fondation Folon est disponible.

Un carnet du visiteur sera en vente à l’entrée.

Autour de l'expo

Partager